SPECIFICATIONS
3D scanning by laser scanner

 

I. General principles
As part of our future collaboration, we will define the common language elements on the different terms used to describe 3D scanning by laser scanner.


 Three-dimensional scanner: A 3D scanner generally measures the positioning of a sampling of points in a coordinate system - a cloud of points - on the surface of a subject and then extrapolates the shape from their distribution: this process is called a 3D reconstruction. If the color of each point is analyzed, then that of the surface can also be reconstructed.
Analogies exist between a camera and a 3D scanner. Both have a field of vision and cannot see what is hidden, both technologies being optical. If the first captures the colors of the surfaces in its field, the other measures its relative positioning in relation to a sample of points on the surfaces.
The image produced is based on a series of data composed of the coordinates positioning each of the sampled points with respect to the 3D scanner. If a spherical coordinate system is used and the scanner is the origin, each point can then be identified by coordinates (r, φ, θ). r represents the distance from the scanner to the point. φ and θ are the angles formed between the line going from the origin to the point analyzed in two planes passing through the origin, one horizontal and the other vertical. These spherical coordinates make it possible to locate each point in space in relation to the scanner, a preliminary work necessary for the digital modeling of the three-dimensional image of the object.
Generally, the data (coordinates of the points) collected with a single pass are not sufficient to fully model a subject. The work has to be done many times, hundreds of times, from different perspectives. All the data collected must be reinterpreted and located in a single coordinate system and grouped. The process, using the different measurements before being reinterpreted until modeling is known as 3D acquisition.


 Scanning or Digitization (S / N):
Scanning or digitization is the operation which makes it possible to acquire all the data by the three-dimensional scanner.
 Accuracy (P):
The precision defines the spacing in mm between 2 points of the scanning at a distance of 10m. It varies between 15mm to 1.5mm
 Quality (Q):
Quality defines the noise level of the scanning point, the higher it is the longer the scanning time, the better the resulting scanning point.
 Resolution (R):
The resolution defines the precision of the scanning, it varies between 1/1 and 1/10, knowing that the resolution 1/1 defines an accuracy of 1.5mm and that 1/10 defines an accuracy of 15mm.
 Angle (A):
The angle defines the horizontal rotation of the scanner, it can vary from 0 ° to 360 °, this angle is defined on site during the scanning and according to the purpose of the scanning.
 Color (C):
The color defines whether the scanning will be done in color or black and white, if a scanning is done in black and white, it can no longer be colored later. Either take photos or redo a color scan.
 Station (ST):
The station corresponds to a shot by the scanner.
 Acquisition (ACQ):
The acquisition is the action of digitizing the object and / or site with its close environment, during the acquisition all the parameters such as Resolution, Quality, Angle, Color are indicated, as well as the number of stations.
 Assembly:
The assembly is the so-called “Post-processing” action allowing all the scans carried out by the stations during the so-called “Acquisition” phase to be grouped in a single file, the file thus assembled is called “Point cloud”, this operation is carried out with dedicated software such as "SCENE", "POINTCAB" or "3DRESHAPER" that EVIDENCES 3D has.
Once the assembly is completed, it is possible to export the point cloud file in different formats, what is called a "Deliverable"
 Deliverable:
The deliverable is a file extracted from post-processing, it can be in the form of an image called “Ortho-photos” (TIFF), of an image capture (Jpeg, Png) or even in vector form (DXF, DWG).
 WebShare and WebShareCloud:
These terms include 2 ways to consult the scanning that was carried out via an internet browser in a 360 ° visit mode with taking dimensions, information, photos and also to exchange information in collaboration with people allowed.
The WEBSHARE application works only on PC in 32 or 64 bit mode, it is a self-executing application supplied on a USB key.
The WEBSHARECLOUD application can be used via our internet platform by a subscription (weekly, monthly, quarterly or annually), it is a secure solution in the "CLOUD" for storing and sharing digital data on the internet. Digital data, like 3D documentation, must be available for several project partners. This solution allows a virtual visit, to take dimensions, shots, annotations, add content (images, text documents, video, etc.) in hyperlink. Accessible 24/7 on all fixed or mobile supports (computer, tablet, smartphone).

II. DETAILS LEVEL
The customer must define the purpose of the use of scanning, this purpose will allow us to choose the level of details during the acquisition of the object and / or its close environment.
Evidences 3D defines 4 main levels of details, they can be adapted if necessary if the client does not find them relevant for their use of the point cloud.
These levels of details are classified ND1 to ND4 representing basic precision for level ND1, the purpose of which is to be used for 2D plans and sections without further information of color, shape and volume and the level ND4, the purpose of which is to serve for details. architectural to be reproduced or saved for purposes of expertise, controls or educational, archeology requiring extreme precision and rendering of colors and textures.

 

Details levels:

 

ND-1
D (distance) 10m
R (resolution) 1/10
Q (Quality) x4
P (Accuracy) 15 mm
C (Color) Yes
A (Angle) 22 ° 5 45 ° 90 ° 180 ° 360 °
T (Time) 1'22 1'42 2'25 3'51 5'27

 

ND-2
D (distance) 10m
R (resolution) 1/4
Q (Quality) x4
P (Precision) 6 mm
C (Color) Yes
A (Angle) 22 ° 5 45 ° 90 ° 180 ° 360 °
T (Time) 2'32 2'50 5'00 7'51 10'00

   

ND-3
D (distance) 10m
R (resolution) 1/2
Q (Quality) x4
P (Precision) 3 mm
C (Color) Yes
A (Angle) 22 ° 5 45 ° 90 ° 180 ° 360 °
T (Time) 4'48 8'35 16'10 31'20 32'57

   

ND-4
D (distance) 10m
R (resolution) 1/1
Q (Quality) x4
P (Precision) 1.5 mm
C (Color) Yes
A (Angle) 22 ° 5 45 ° 90 ° 180 ° 360 °
T (Time) 15'32 30'03 59'07 1h57 1h58

III. SCANNING STATIONS
Evidences 3D digitizes a work or a site, using a terrestrial laser scanner.
The terrestrial laser scanner digitizes everything it sees, when there are masks, obstacles or any screen that does not allow scanning in its entirety, it is necessary to carry out several scanning stations.
The terrestrial laser scanner used theoretically allows to digitize in a station with a radius of 130m and without obstacles an area of ​​53,093 m². Depending on the level of detail defined, we obtain a point spacing at 130m and a relative exposure time equivalent to:

ND1: P = 195 mm with an exposure time of 5'27
ND2: P = 78 mm with an exposure time of 10'00
ND3: P = 39 mm with an exposure time of 32'57
ND4: P = 19.5 mm with an exposure time of 1h58


The number of scanning stations is determined according to the criteria of visibility, precision and purpose.
at. DEFINITION OF THE NUMBER OF SCANNING STATIONS
i. Indoors
In the case of indoor scanning, the number of scanning stations will be defined according to the complexity of the room and the purpose of the scanning.
In the following example we start on an assumption of a level of details ND1
100 m² space without partition
1 position is sufficient

 

100 m² building with 4 rooms, one with partition.
1 station per room without partition for rooms 1 to 3
Additional station in order to have the whole room, here 1 additional station for room 4
ii. Outdoors
To perform a facade scan, the number of stations is defined in this way regardless of the level of detail chosen.
1 station in each corner if the length of the facade is less than or equal to 10m
An intermediate station if the length of the facade is more than 10m and less than 15m, beyond count an intermediate station every 10m. Additional stations will be mandatory if the work to be scanned has concave or convex shapes.
When the work to be scanned at a height greater than 15m, intermediate stations must be provided in height every 10m with a tripod, carrycot or any other means that can be made available by the customer.
NOTE: in general as soon as there is an obstacle (wall, post, beam, cornice, etc ...), not allowing to scan the entire structure or site and if the purpose of the scanning requires it, it is necessary to multiply scanning stations.

  • LinkedIn Evidences 3d
  • Facebook Evidences 3D
  • Youtube Evidences 3D
Logo Evidences 3D 2020

More information

© 2020 for Evidences 3D. Powered by Cyril Croze.

Commercial agencies

 

Lyon 69003 - Tour Swiss Life

Donzère 26290 - 58 rue basse bourgade

Cluny 71250 - 21 Rue Mercière

Logo Evidences 3D
0

CAHIER DES CHARGES
Numérisation 3D par laser scanner

I.    Principes Généraux
Dans le cadre de notre future collaboration, nous allons définir les éléments de langage communs sur les différents termes utilisés pour décrire la numérisation 3D par laser scanner.


    Scanner tridimensionnel : Un scanner 3D mesure généralement le positionnement d'un échantillonnage de points dans un système de coordonnées - un nuage de points - de la surface d'un sujet pour ensuite en extrapoler la forme à partir de leur répartition : ce procédé est appelé une reconstruction 3D. Si la couleur de chacun des points est analysée, alors celle de la surface peut également être reconstituée.
Des analogies existent entre un appareil photo et un scanner 3D. Les deux ont un champ de vision et ne peuvent voir ce qui est masqué, les deux technologies étant optiques. Si le premier capture les couleurs des surfaces dans son champ l'autre mesure son positionnement relatif par rapport à un échantillon de points des surfaces.
L'image produite est basée sur un série de données composées des coordonnées positionnant chacun des points échantillonnés par rapport au scanner 3D. Si un système de coordonnées sphériques est utilisé et que le scanner en est l'origine, chaque point peut alors être identifié par des coordonnées (r, φ, θ). r représente la distance du scanner au point. φ et θ sont les angles formés entre la ligne allant de l'origine au point analysé à deux plans passant par l'origine, l'un horizontal et l'autre vertical. Ces coordonnées sphériques permettent de situer dans l'espace chacun des points par rapport au scanner, travail préalable et nécessaire à la modélisation numérique de l'image en trois dimensions de l'objet.
Généralement, les données (coordonnées des points) recueillies avec une seule passe ne sont pas suffisantes pour modéliser entièrement un sujet. Le travail doit être effectué de nombreuses fois, voir des centaines de fois, à partir de point de vue différents. Toutes les données recueillies doivent être réinterprétées et situées dans un système de coordonnées unique et regroupées. Le processus, utilisant les différentes mesures avant d'être réinterprétées jusqu'à la modélisation est connu sous le nom d’acquisition 3D.


    Scanning ou Numérisation (S/N):
Le scanning ou la numérisation est l’opération qui permet d’acquérir toutes les données par le scanner tridimensionnel.
    Précision (P):
La précision définit l’espacement en mm entre 2 points du scanning à une distance de 10m. Elle varie entre 15mm à 1.5mm
    Qualité  (Q):
La qualité définit le niveau de bruit du point de scanning, plus il est élevé plus le temps de scanning est allongé, meilleur est le point de scanning résultant. 
    Résolution (R):
La résolution définit la précision du scanning, elle varie entre 1/1 et 1/10, sachant que la résolution 1/1 définit une précision de 1.5mm et que 1/10 définit une précision de 15mm.
    Angle (A):
L’angle définit la rotation horizontale du scanner, il peut varier de 0° à 360°, cet angle est défini sur le site lors du scanning et suivant la finalité du scanning.
    Couleur (C) :
La couleur définit si le scanning sera réalisé en couleur ou noir et blanc, si un scanning est réalisé en noir et blanc, il ne pourra plus être colorisé par la suite. Il faudra soit faire des photos ou refaire un scanning en couleur.
    Station (ST) : 
La station correspond à une prise de vue par le scanner.
    Acquisition  (ACQ) :
L’acquisition est l’action de numérisation de l’objet et/ou site avec son environnement proche, lors de l’acquisition tous les paramètres tel que Résolution, Qualité, Angle, Couleur sont renseignés, ainsi que le nombre de station.  
    Assemblage :
L’assemblage est l’action dite « Post-traitement » permettant de regrouper en un seul fichier tous les scannings réalisés par les stations lors de la phase dite « d’Acquisition », le fichier ainsi assemblé est appelé « Nuage de points », cette opération est réalisée avec des logiciels dédiés tel que « SCENE », « POINTCAB » ou « 3DRESHAPER » que possède EVIDENCES 3D.
Une fois l’assemblage terminé, il est possible d’exporter le fichier de nuage de points sous différents formats, ce qu’on appel un « Livrable »
    Livrable :
Le livrable est un fichier extrait du post-traitement, il peut être sous forme d’une image dit « Ortho-photos » (TIFF), d’une capture d’image (Jpeg, Png) ou encore sous forme vectoriel (DXF, DWG).
    WebShare et WebShareCloud :
Ces termes regroupent 2 façons de consulter le scanning qui a été réalisé via un navigateur internet dans un mode de visite à 360° avec prise de dimensions, d’informations, de photos et de réaliser aussi des échanges d’informations en collaborations avec les personnes autorisés.
L’application WEBSHARE fonctionne uniquement sur PC en mode 32 ou 64 bits, c’est une application auto-exécutable fourni sur une clé USB.
L’application WEBSHARECLOUD est utilisable via notre plateforme internet par un abonnement (hebdomadaire, mensuel, trimestriel ou annuel), c’est une solution sécurisée dans le « CLOUD » pour le stockage et le partage de données numérisées sur internet. Les données numériques, comme la documentation 3D, doivent être disponibles pour plusieurs partenaires du projet. Cette solution permet une visite virtuelle, de prendre des dimensions, des prises de vues, des annotations, ajouter du contenu (images, documents texte, vidéo, etc…) en hyperlien. Accessible 24h/24 et 7jrs/7 sur tous les supports fixes ou mobiles (ordinateur, tablette, smartphone).

II.    NIVEAU DE DETAILS
Le client doit définir la finalité de l’utilisation du scanning, cette finalité nous permettra de choisir le niveau de détails lors de l’acquisition de l’objet et/ou de son environnement proche.
Evidences 3D à définit 4 niveaux de détails principaux, ils pourront être adapté le cas échéant si le client ne les trouve par pertinent pour son utilisation du nuage de points.
Ces niveaux de détails sont classifiés ND1 à ND4 représentant une précision basic pour le niveau ND1 dont la finalité devant servir à des plans et coupes 2D sans plus d’information de couleur, forme et volume et le niveau ND4 dont la finalité devant servir aux détails architecturaux devant être reproduit ou sauvegarder à des fins d’expertises, contrôles ou éducatif, à l’archéologie demandant une précision extrême et un rendu des couleur et textures.

 

Niveaux de détails :    

    ND-1
    D (distance)    10m
    R (résolution)    1/10
    Q (Qualité)    x4
    P (Précision)    15 mm
    C (Couleur)    Oui
    A (Angle)    22°5    45°    90°    180°    360°
    T (Temps)    1’22    1’42    2’25    3’51    5’27

 

    ND-2   
    D (distance)    10m
    R (résolution)    1/4
    Q (Qualité)    x4
    P (Précision)    6 mm
    C (Couleur)    Oui
    A (Angle)    22°5    45°    90°    180°    360°
    T(Temps)    2’32    2’50    5’00    7’51    10’00

   

    ND-3
    D (distance)    10m
    R (résolution)    1/2
    Q (Qualité)    x4
    P (Précision)    3 mm
    C (Couleur)    Oui
    A (Angle)    22°5    45°    90°    180°    360°
    T (Temps)    4’48    8’35    16’10    31’20    32’57

   

    ND-4
    D (distance)    10m
    R (résolution)    1/1
    Q (Qualité)    x4
    P (Précision)    1.5 mm
    C (Couleur)    Oui
    A (Angle)    22°5    45°    90°    180°    360°
    T (Temps)    15’32    30’03    59’07    1h57    1h58

III.    LES STATIONS DE SCANNING
Evidences 3D numérise un ouvrage ou un site, en utilisant un laser scanner terrestre.
Le laser scanner terrestre numérise tout ce qu’il voit, lorsqu’il y a des masques, obstacles ou tout écran ne permettant pas de numériser dans sa globalité, il est nécessaire de réaliser plusieurs stations de scanning.
Le laser scanner terrestre utilisé permet théoriquement de numériser en une station avec un rayon de 130m et sans obstacles une surface de 53 093 m². Suivant le niveau de détails définit nous obtenons un espacement des points à 130m et un temps de pose en rapport équivalent à :

ND1 : P = 195 mm avec un temps de pose de 5’27
ND2 : P = 78 mm avec un temps de pose de 10’00
ND3 : P = 39 mm avec un temps de pose de 32’57
ND4 : P = 19.5 mm avec un temps de pose de 1h58


Le nombre de station de scanning est déterminé suivant les critères de visibilité, de précision et de finalité.
a.     DEFINITION DU NOMBRE DE STATION DE SCANNING
i.    En Intérieur
Dans le cas d’un scanning en intérieur, le nombre de station de scanning sera définit suivant la complexité de la pièce et la finalité du scanning.
Dans l’exemple suivant nous partons sur une hypothèse d’un niveau de détails ND1
Espace de 100 m² sans cloison
1 seule position est suffisante 

 

Bâtiment de 100 m² avec 4 pièces dont une avec cloison.
1 station par pièces sans cloison pour les pièces 1 à 3
Station supplémentaire afin de permettre d’avoir la pièce en totalité, ici 1 station supplémentaire pour la pièce 4
ii.    En extérieur
Pour réaliser un scanning de façade, le nombre de station est définit de la sorte quel que soit le niveau de détails choisis.
1 station dans chaque angle si la longueur de la façade inférieure ou égale à 10m
Une station intermédiaire si la longueur de la façade est supérieure à 10m et inférieure à 15m, au-delà compter une station intermédiaire tous les 10m. Des stations supplémentaires seront obligatoires si l’ouvrage à scanner présente des formes concaves ou convexes.
Lorsque l’ouvrage à scanner à une hauteur supérieur à 15m, il faudra prévoir des stations intermédiaires en hauteur tous les 10m avec un trépied, nacelle ou tout autre moyen pouvant être mis à disposition par le client. 
NOTA : en générale dès qu’il y a un obstacle (paroi, poteau, poutre, corniche, etc…), ne permettant pas de scanner en totalité l’ouvrage ou site et si la finalité du scanning l’exige, il faut multiplier les stations de scanning.